Author Topic: Thomas James ALEXANDER - Boer War  (Read 5442 times)

alex79062

Thomas James ALEXANDER - Boer War
« on: August 28, 2008, 09:28:43 PM »
Newbie here trying to pin down my greatgrandfathers service in the Boar War. I have a photo of him in uniform showing a rather poorly defined capbadge which look very much like the Manchesters.

What puzzles me though is that he came from Surrey - and he may have been an artilleryman of some sort. Does this stack up?

I've attached a photo (he's the one on the left! - couldn't work out how to crop the others out)

Is there a source where records can be searched? (National Archives I suppose - any records held by the regiment?)

Hope someone can shed a little light.

Many thanks

Barry Alexander
(ex-Royal Marine from the 60's)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2008, 07:16:39 PM by harribobs »

Offline harribobs

• Site Monkey
  • Global Moderator
Re: Thomas James ALEXANDER - Boar War
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2008, 10:06:15 PM »
hi barry

and welcome to the group

personally i can't say whether he was with the manchesters in boer war but hopefully some of our south african experts will be able to tell us

the uniform in the picture looks more WW1 to me but unfortunately it is too small for me to make out the detail. can you scan it again, at a higher resolution, on it's own and we should be able to tell more

cheers

chris
« Last Edit: August 28, 2008, 10:10:04 PM by harribobs »
“It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply
  to serve as a warning to others."

alex79062

Re: Thomas James ALEXANDER - Boar War
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2008, 06:49:54 PM »
Thanks for the welcome Chris,