Author Topic: Harry Brindley MM 44694  (Read 2484 times)

Offline Stokelass

Harry Brindley MM 44694
« on: June 28, 2009, 10:17:40 PM »
I am a family history researcher with quite a lot of knowledge but very little knowledge of military history research.  I would welcome your help.  My great uncles details (taken from CWGC website) are
HARRY BRINDLEY MM, COMPANY SGT MAJOR, 44694, 17TH BN MANCH REG, DIED 22.3.18, BURIED SAVY BRITISH CEMETERY.

The following information was taken from Soldiers died in the Great War. BORN NORMACOT, STAFFS (NOW PART OF STOKE ON TRENT)
ENLISTED DOVER, KILLED IN ACTION, TOW FRANCE & FLANDERS, FORMERLY 13954 ROYAL FUSILIERS

I have a copy of MIC for his MM only (cat ref: WO 372/23). I don't have MIC for his other medals which I assume he must have. His MIC for his MM shows he was a Sgt 19th BN. Date of Gazette 9.7.17 and I have a copy of the listing from the Gazette. I've recently visited Manch Cathedral and have seen his name in the Rolls of Honour in the Regiments Chapel. My questions are

I am confused by by the connections with the Royal Fusiliers and the Manch Reg. His brother Joseph enlisted in N Staffs Reg in Stoke on Trent.  I would have thought Harry would have done the same. Did he switch regiments in Dover? I know there was a lot of movement from one regiment to another during this war.

Can I find out when and where he orginally enlisted and the dates he moved from one regiment to another? I am aware of the service records but haven't made it to Kew yet. I have access to ancestry at my local archives.

His MM was listed in the London Gazette on 9.7.17. How long before this would the action have taken place for which it was granted and is it likely that this would feature in the war diaries?

Have you a copy of MIC for his other medals.