Author Topic: John Dillon (aka: fun with research)  (Read 8153 times)

jaded.echo

John Dillon (aka: fun with research)
« on: August 07, 2008, 09:12:06 AM »
Hello there! 

First a quick introduction:  I'm Sheri, living in Canada, married to a soldier over in Afghanistan as I sit at my keyboard.  Before the death of his grandmother last year, I sat down with her and tried to get some of the family history for the tree that I've been bashing my head against for a few years.  I'm writing concerning her father.

She was a creative person with a considerable flair for storytelling, so all "facts" are worth questioning.

John Dillon (sp?) was born in Ireland (?) and lived in Manchester.  His wife was Martha Jackson (later Martha Ford, she remarried).  He was sent home, with many injuries to his head and face (?) and conceived Pat (actually named Martha, my Grandmother-In-Law) when he was sent back to the front to dig trenches where he was killed mere moments before the signing of the treaty. (?)  As they already had 5 children, the birth of Pat brought them to 3 sons and 3 daughters, some time after his death.  Martha Jackson-Dillon had to fight to get the pension for her youngest child, but the dates held and she was reportedly successful. 

Will this information get you wonderful, kind, folks anywhere?  Sadly, it only got me to this record:

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/details-result.asp?Edoc_Id=2789931&queryType=1&resultcount=533279

This may or may not be him.  Really difficult to say.

If anyone needs any Canadian records looked up, I'll do anything I can to return all favors! 

Sheri ???

jaded.echo

Re: John Dillon (aka: fun with research)
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2008, 09:20:09 AM »
Oh, here's a link to a bit of my tree, as always, a work in progress.

http://s.r1chard.ca-a.googlepages.com/home2

Offline harribobs

• Site Monkey
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2008, 12:31:25 PM »
hi sheri

and welcome to the group